Book Haul: 25 October 2014

Book Haul: 25 October 2014Book Haul: 25 October 2014

It’s been a few weeks since I was able to find anything at the thrift shop, but I did actually find some stuff. At first, I thought I wasn’t going to find anything. The last time I went, I didn’t get anything. I looked over the books and looked over the books and finally found a few things that interested me. Sadly, I left behind French Fry Forgiveness and Why is Snot Green?. I may regret not buying those two books in the future, but I think I ended up with a good lot of books.

This group of books isn’t well-known for the most part, but I have my reasons for buying them.

What I got

Book Haul: 25 October 2014The Gourmet Paper Maker by Ellaraine Lockie

At first, I read the title of this book and I thought it was a bit weird. I don’t make my own paper, but I have made paper in the past. Upon opening this book, I found there were instructions on how to make paper from corn husks, pineapple tops, onion skins, garlic skins, and all kinds of vegetable matter that you usually throw away when you’re processing your fruits and vegetables. I like using as much of something as I can, so this book intrigued me. There is even a section on making paper out of wild mushrooms. I have plenty of those around here, but I don’t know if I would end up making a paper that caused hallucinogenic episodes when eaten, but who eats paper?

This might be a project I try one day when I have some time. It would be neat to know how to make my own paper from something I was going to throw away anyway. This book has pictures and instructions for all steps of the process. So, if you’ve been wondering how to use all those onion skins, this might be a solution to your problem.


Book Haul: 25 October 2014The Book of Someday by  Dianne Dixon

I bought this book partially because the front said, “a mesmerizing book that will keep you up at night,” but that’s not the only reason I bought it. The copy I found also says, “Uncorrected advance copy not for sale.” I actually have several advanced reader’s copies of books. I can’t really resist buying them because it’s kind of bad. It makes me feel as if I’m walking on the wild side just a bit. Oooh, it’s not for resale and I totally bought it.

The book itself is in pristine condition and still contains a letter in the front to the reader, it’s not a hand-written letter, but a letter from the publisher to the prospective reader all typed up and formatted.

This book is about three people whose lives eventually meet up. One of them is named Livvi and her life has been filled with a nightmare. There are also two other women involved in this story that connect with Livvi in some manner. I don’t know what to expect out of this book besides that. I was enticed by its advanced reader’s copy status.


Book Haul: 25 October 2014Precious and Fragile Things by Megan Hart

I bought this book because it was also an advance reader’s copy. It says, “Not for sale. Advance uncorrected proofs.” Yeah, I know, I’m so wild for buying this.

This book is about a woman named Gilly who is carjacked by a stranger. She is relieved to get away from her hectic life and soon comes to recognize that her captor is a person too.

That’s called Stockholm syndrome, sweetheart.

We’ll see if it’s good or not.



 

 

Book Haul: 25 October 2014Buffalo Woman Comes Singing by Brooke Medicine Eagle

This was the first book that caught my eye. This was the book that made me decide to buy books at all on this particular trip to the thrift shop.

I really enjoy reading books about Native American culture and traditions. Brooke is a Crow Indian. This book is part of her journey to where she is now, but it’s also about her work as a teacher of Native American ways.

The book has a lot of information about ceremonies that Brooke participates in. Many of these sound as if they’re targeted to women, which is really neat.

I’m looking forward to reading this book and learning more about Brooke’s culture and traditions.



 

Book Haul: 25 October 2014The Schooling of Claybird Catts by   Janis Owens

This book really just caught my eye. The name also sounded familiar to me.

This book is about a young boy who has lost his father. He then has to learn to depend more on other members of his family, including an uncle that shows back up after twenty years of being gone.

 

What I spent: $2.50

//

Amazon.com Widgets
Book Haul: 25 October 2014. book haul one-elevenbooks, brooke medicine eagle, buffalo woman comes singing, buffalo woman comes singing by brooke medicine eagle, diane dixon, ellaraine lockie, janis owens, megan hart, precious and fragile things, precious and fragile things by megan hart, the book of someday, the book of someday by diane dixon, the gourmet paper maker, the gourmet paper maker by ellaraine lockie, the schooling of claybird catts, the schooling of claybird catts by janis ownes
Book Haul
One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

