#470 Endings by Norman Christof

Endings by Norman ChristofEndings by Norman Christof

Wouldn’t you know that this makes my 110th book of the year?

Norman was kind enough to let me review his book and so I read it.

This books is set sometime in the future, there isn’t really any definite time. It’s the third zombie war and Colonel Chaz Sheperd is fighting in the swamps of Louisiana against zombies that just seem to keep materializing out of the rotting organic matter and muck. He sends some men off to check on the positions from other areas because he hasn’t heard anything.

When they come back, it’s bad news. It seems Washington has fallen. At this point Chaz decides to get the heck out of Dodge. What’s the point in continuing to be a war hero when the war has been lost? Chaz takes some supplies and a humvee and goes on his way. He makes his way to Atlanta where he hopes to find his ex-wife and children. When he gets there he finds some hope, but he also finds some other strange things going on.

He finds people telling him that not all the zombies acted like zombies. Some of them could act like people and they did, even infiltrating the local government infrastructure. There were airstrikes ordered on the area.

Chaz reflects on his past relationships. He loved his family, but he also loved fighting for his country. Everyone knows who he is when he tells them his name. He’s revered to the American people and they allow him rights that they would not allow others. As Chaz ventures further into the hills of the Appalachian mountains, he finds companions and more zombies, but they’re not the kind of zombies a person would expect.

He soon acquires another mission.

What I liked

I am not a zombie person. I have never seen The Walking Dead or read the books. I actually think zombies are kind of stupid, but Norman was able to give me a good reason for the creation of zombies. I don’t want to give it away because I really like it, but let’s say it’s something I’ve done a lot of research on and it’s something I think is terrible. I’m not upset that Norman used this thing as a possible contributor to the creation of zombies. I actually think it’s great.

I also really like that Norman chose to have the zombie outbreak limited to a certain area. Usually, when you read zombie stories the zombies are all over the entire world, but someone was smart enough in Norman’s world to create a quarantine. Go people of Norman’s world, you’re smarter than the people of our world today.

Norman was also smart in assuming that any virus or bacterium that could cause a person to turn into a zombie would also rightly mutate into something else. Super-zombies? Yes, diseases mutate.

I know there are other books in this series. At this point I kind of feel that Norman could make a really neat statement about the people in power and them being zombies, but we’ll see.

What I didn’t like

On purely mechanical notices–I noticed a few sentence fragments, not that I’m one to talk. This is basically the pot calling the kettle black. I also noticed that Norman relies heavily on the word “freak” in his description of the zombies. Zombies are freaks, yes, that’s true, but it seems to me the word might be a bit overused.

In a portion of the story, Chaz is somewhere north of Atlanta when he notices some seagulls. The text states that it’s strange that sea gulls would be so far inland. It’s not strange actually. Lake Lanier  is in Hall county and because of its large size it often attracts seagulls. I used to live around the area and I saw seagulls all the time.

Overall

This book isn’t bad for a zombie book.



chaz sheperd, colonel chaz shepherd, endings, Endings by Norman Christof, norman christof, zombie antidote, zombie invasion, zombies, zombies in atlanta, zombies in the south
Books Set in the South, Christof-Norman, Fiction, Post Apocalyspe, Science Fiction, Social Commentary, Undead, what if
One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

