Book Haul: 8 November 2014

Book Haul: 8 November 2014Book Haul:8 November 2014

You know, I’ve been hoping to find a chair at the thrift shop for a while now. Everything I go, I look for a chair. I’ve been wanting a 1960s or 1970s chair to recover and repaint to put in my living room. As of yet, I’ve turned up with nothing. The books will have to suffice. Books are the main reason I go to the thrift shop anyway. As you can see I ended up with four books. There were a lot of strange cookbooks sitting out on a table there, but none of them were very interesting. I’ve lost a lot of interest in cookbooks because I have so many already and I can’t eat wheat, so cookbooks lose a lot of their luster.

What I got

Book Haul: 8 November 2014Under the Big Top by Bruce Feiler

This isn’t just any book, it’s a book about the circus. Strangely enough, I never wanted to run away to the circus. I know people say that’s all kids want to do, but seriously, I never wanted to run away to the circus.

This book isn’t fiction, no, it’s really about the circus, the real circus. This book is more of a documentary about the circus and I like that. It will probably be my non-fiction book for December.

The people who work circuses are a subculture. We have many subcultures in our societies and they’re all interesting to learn about. I’m looking forward to learning some insightful things about the life of people who work circuses.


Book Haul: 8 November 2014Light on Snow by Anita Shreve

I’ve read another of Anita’s books, The Pilot’s Wife. I figured that since I read that book and I didn’t hate it, I could read this book. It’s been several years since I’ve read anything by Anita, so maybe I didn’t like it. I don’t know, I don’t remember.

This book is about a father and a daughter who discover an abandoned baby in the snow. That doesn’t sound like the most promising premise for a book, but Anita probably knows her stuff. Oprah has picked her for the book club after all.

 



 

Book Haul: 8 November 2014Girls Like Us by Rachel Lloyd

This book is a memoir. It’s about a woman who works with young girls who have been forced into being sex workers at a very young age. It’s sad that this world exists, but it does.

Not surprisingly, a lot of these girls come from the foster care system. Being a girl is still a very difficult thing in our world. It seems that no matter a girl’s age there is always going to be someone who wants to sexualize that girl. That’s why these poor children are forced into having sex with strangers when they’re eleven and twelve years old.

I read books like this to learn about the world around me. I’ve been very privileged in many aspects, but others haven’t. I need to know what happens around me, so I can maybe possibly find a small way to lessen these kinds of things in the world. If everyone knew about this kind of thing and everyone thought it was terrible, this kind of thing wouldn’t be going on. I need to be able to speak knowledgeably about things like this.


Book Haul: 8 November 2014Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe

I bought this book because the bright colors drew me in and the blurbs on the front said it was funny. If they’re lying I’m not going to be happy.

Apparently, this book is about Miami, I’ve never been there. I was actually in Boca Raton one time, which is not far from Miami and I wanted to go and see Miami, but my husband didn’t want to go. So I’ve never been to Miami. I know, he’s a humbug. So close, but I never got to go to Miami.

Someday, I’m going to go to Miami and I’m going to see it. Right now, this book is going to have to serve as a substitute.



 

What I spent: $2.50

//

Amazon.com Widgets
anita shreve, back to blood, back to blood by tom wolfe, book haul, book haul one-elevenbooks, bruce feiler, girls like us, girls like us by rachel lloyd, light on snow, light on snow by anita shreve, one-elevenbooks, rachel lloyd, tom wolfe, under the big top, under the big top by bruce feiler
Book Haul
One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

