#478 The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizziThe Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

I know there was a Spiderwick movie made, but I never watched it. Maybe I will after I finish this series. The movie would have to be something than spanned more than one book as each book seems to be rather short.

In the beginning of the book we follow three siblings Jared, Simon, and Mallory on an adventure. They have recently moved into their Aunt Lucinda’s house with their mother. The house is falling apart and generally strange. They think a squirrel is in the wall one night, only to find a rather strange assortment of odds and ends in a wall. They hear the animal, or so they think, in the dumb-waiter shaft and send Jared up. He ends up in a room with no door. The room is a library of sorts and it’s clear someone else is there because there’s writing in the dust on the desk. There is a strange little poem with hints about things.

Jared follows the hints the next day, but only after his sister’s hair is tied to her bed. Everyone thinks he did it, but he did not. The instructions he found lead him to the unsafe attic, where he finds a strange book in the false bottom of a chest. It’s written by a man named Arthur Spiderwick and it turns out Lucinda’s last name was Spiderwick. The book is all about fairies and boggarts and things of that nature. Jared begins to suspect that a boggart is in the house.

The kitchen soon ends up in a mess, but there is evidence a tiny person has been there. Jared makes a new house for the boggart and determines to get back into the mystery room. There is actually a door, it’s in the linen closet. You know what other strange door was in the linen closet? The door to the other realm in Sabrina the Teenage Witch. Anyway, in the end they meet what’s in the house and it’s nothing they had expected.

What I liked

Whimsy, this book is full of whimsy and it’s neat. Why not have a house with a mystery room? I keep hoping I’ll find something interesting in my house, but the only thing weird about my house is the fact that a chimney is walled up in the wall. Unless there’s gold in there, I’ve got nothing worth anything. I just keep finding trash and horseshoes. There is also something in my wall, but I doubt it’s a boggart. I’m thinking it’s a rat or a squirrel.

What I didn’t like

There wasn’t really anything I didn’t like about the book, other than this boggart thing seems to be a jerk. He tied a girl’s hair to her bed and he messed up the kitchen. What a little jerk. Why would you tie someone’s hair to the bed? Also, why would you freeze tadpoles in ice-cube trays? That sounds just awful. I know someone who said fried tadpoles were really good; he’s from another country; I’ve never had fried tadpoles myself.

Overall

A secret room? Why not? I wish I had a secret room.



arthur spiderwick, boggart, filed guide, holly black, jared, mallory, old house, simon, the field guide, the spiderwick chronicles, the spiderwick chronicles by holly black and tony diterlizzi, The Spiderwick Chronicles: The Field Guide by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi, tony diterlizzi
Black-Holly, Children’s, DiTerlizzi-Tony, Family dynamics, Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery
One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

