Andersen Fairy Tales, Andersen-Hans Christian

Ole-Luk-Oie The Dream God-Monday

Ole-Luk-Oie The Dream God-MondayOle-Luk-Oie The Dream God-Monday

On Monday, Ole-Luk-Oie came to Hjalmar. He told him to relax and that he was going to decorate the room. All the flowers in their pots turned into tall trees, which held beautiful flowers. These flowers would have been delicious had you tasted them.

The room sprang to life, but there was a terrible moaning coming from the drawer. It was a slate. It was moaning because of a wrong sum that was written upon it. Then a pencil was making a racket because it couldn’t correct some copy in a copy book. Instead of being copied the way they were supposed to, the words inside were leaning. Ole-Luk-Oie decided to remedy this. He made the letters workout and stand up.

When Hjalmar woke up, he looked in his book, and the letters were still as terrible as ever.

 

Observations

This seems like kind of a nightmare. You go to sleep, but then you dream about schoolwork. You wake up, only to find that your schoolwork has returned to its general state of horribleness. If I were a kid, I would think this was a nightmare. Well, wishful thinking/dreaming at the least. It’s kind of like dreaming about work. Nobody wants to dream he or she is at work. Every once in a while I still dream about high school. I dream about how I’m going to be late for this final or miss this final, but I wake up, and I realize that high school was over ten years ago.

Themes

For me, schoolwork was never that big of a worry. I do distinctly remember catching myself practicing Spanish alphabet pronunciations one time when I had woken up in the middle of some sleep talking, however. School just wasn’t that big of a worry for me. It’s because I didn’t have to try very hard.

Right here, right now, I’m going to admit something–I never studied anything until I got to college. I just waltzed into class, listened or didn’t listen, took the test, and I passed, generally. There were a few math tests I didn’t do so hot on. In fact, when I took trigonometry in high school, I had this group of friends I sat around. All we did was pass notes and talk, the entire class. We didn’t pay attention. We had the highest grades in the class. We were pulling off averages anywhere from ninety-six to ninety-eight without even trying.

Not all of us are like that though. Some children worry about their classwork. They worry about getting that math problem right or spelling that word correctly. For a kid who just can’t seem to spell hippopotamus correctly, schoolwork could cause a lot of anxiety. Hjalmar probably worried about his classwork. He probably wanted to please his teachers and his parents, but his hands just wouldn’t follow the curvatures of the letters correctly, and those sums just didn’t make sense.

I feel bad for this kid. He worried so much about classwork that he dreamed about it. He dreamed the schoolwork had fixed itself, or Ole-Luk-Oie had fixed it, but then he woke up, and it was just as crappy as ever. Poor kid.

 

Overall

I found school highly irritating. Everyone is expected to go at the same pace, which is impossible.

Weigh In

What kind of dreams have you had about school?

Do you think worrying about grades places too much stress on children?

Leave a Reply

