#561 A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller

 A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller

Donald writes about his life, when some movie guys called him up and said, “We want to make a movie about your book about your life,” Donald was in, but he soon discovered that his life wasn’t very exciting. The story Donald tells in this book is not only about how to tell a story, it’s about living a life that would be worthy of a story.

When Donald met with the two men who would turn his life into a story, they almost immediately got him doing things he normally wouldn’t do, like sledding around on the snow in kayaks. They told Donald he would have to edit his life. He had to turn his life from the book into something that would be interesting to watch as a movie.

Donald found that writing a movie was different from writing a book. A movie had to keep people engaged at all times, while a book could meander and roam. Books could involve a lot of thought, while, in movies, you can’t really tell what a character is thinking unless they say it aloud.

When Donald started looking at his life he realized, even though he was a writer, that he was a bit boring. He did safe things. He did familiar things. He did things that were not risky.

Over the course of coming to this realization Donald learned that he had to make his life special. He wasn’t going to grow as a person if he did the safe things. He didn’t want to work his entire life for a Volvo.

He changed things. Donald took chances. Donald made mistakes. Donald got messy.

(Yes, I do have a particular love for The Magic School Bus.)

By the end of the book, Donald has made his life into something interesting and something worthy of living.

What I liked

I did not know this book existed before I started reading another book. I started reading a memoir and the author of that book said she had to read this book. I stopped reading that book and found this book. If a book is enough to give another author inspiration in life, it’s probably good enough for me too.

I was not disappointed. Donald seems like a great guy. Donald realized that he needed to step up his game in life. I am at a similar point in my life myself. Do I hang onto a boring story or do I move forward with my life? You don’t get anywhere in life doing all the safe things.

It’s a great message for anybody. Instead of sitting around doing things because they’re familiar, push yourself. Be that person you always wanted to be in your head.

This book gets an A+ from me.

It’s similar to The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho in some ways. Both books are essentially about taking the risky steps you need to take in your life to be the person you need to be. Donald’s book is a little more real-world applicable, especially to writers.

What I didn’t like

There isn’t really anything I didn’t like about this book. Go Donald.

Overall

I will look forward to Donald’s other books as I come across them.

Weigh In

If your life was going to be a movie, would it be a boring movie or an exciting one?

Do you think we fall into ruts of being too comfortable? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

