Information

S%&* Happens

S%&* HappensS%&* Happens

I would first like to apologize for not having a post up earlier today. I had a good reason, namely that I was in a car accident, then I rode in a fancy ambulance to a hospital, then I had to get pain killers, then I had to ride around and talk to insurance people and all that stuff. Whiplash is starting to set in and I’m not feeling awesome.

I would have posted a regular post, but I wanted you guys to know what was going on, if things get a little laggy around here for a few days.

As you can see, I’m in need of a new car and a new Kindle. The Kindle got smashed. It was inside my purse, but ended up getting smashed like you see in the picture, so that’s how severe the accident was. Thankfully, Hyundai makes a car that kept me safe.

I was on my way to work, I had actually just left my house. Near my house, as in I can see it and wave at it from my house, is a four-way stop. This four-way stop used to be a two-way stop, but there was a severe accident there a while back, in which a man died, afterwards, it was a four-way stop. People still run this four-way stop all the time, although it’s not as common as it used to be. Accidents still happen there all the time. Needless to say, an actual traffic light would probably do wonders for the intersection.

I had just stopped at the stop-sign, like I was supposed to, and all of a sudden, a black car came barreling towards me, without even thinking about stopping at the stop sign on their side. The car hit me, on the driver’s side up near the front of my car. I was spun around a bit and ended up hitting a white truck waiting on the other wise of the intersection. My car then started sliding backward, I had to keep my foot on the brake. The black car that caused it all, also hit the white truck.

Almost every single airbag in my car deployed. I couldn’t put my car in park. I had to keep my foot on the brake to keep it from sliding more. It was raining. The airbags smoked when they deployed and my first thought was, “I have to get out of here!” I couldn’t get out though because the car would roll away. I hit my head on something, still not sure what, but no blood. My glasses were somehow on the other side of the car. My sunglasses had spilled out of their holder by the visors and onto the seat beside me. My Kindle was smashed, as you can see for yourself in the picture.

A nice lady came over and helped me put the emergency brake on so the car wouldn’t roll away and I could take my foot off of the brake. I was extremely shaken up. I was crying and shaking. My car called for help, but somebody had seen the accident and had called for help as well. The nice lady on the other end of the Hyundai Bluelink called my mother.

The ambulance came and I got on a stretcher, albeit very unsteadily, at this point it was difficult for me to walk because I was so shaky. I rode in an ambulance for the first time in my life. Keep in mind, I hadn’t gotten a look at the car at this point. All I knew was that the hood flipped up, I couldn’t put the car in park, and the airbags went off. Ambulances are kind of cold, but maybe it was just because it was rainy and cold outside. I did get quite wet going from the car to the ambulance.

I wasn’t bleeding and I kept consciousness throughout the entire thing, but my head hurt, and now, a lot of stuff hurts. Tomorrow, a lot more things are going to hurt.

I got to the hospital, where I waited forever at the ER. The good thing about coming in by ambulance is that you don’t have to wait in the main waiting room, you get triaged back to the step-up waiting room, but you still have to wait there, a long time, if you’re not bleeding or losing consciousness.

The doctor I saw was kind of a hippie, but he was very nice. He used the analogy that my adrenal system had dumped everything off of the shelves and it would not be wise for me to go to work, possibly around sick people, because my body didn’t have anything in stock at the moment to fight it off, so I’m off work for a few days.

My mom drove up to pick me up from the hospital. They, of course, passed the correct road and had to turn around several times before they found the correct entrance to the ER area at the hospital. So I was waiting out in the rain for a few minutes; it was cold. They took me to lunch at the Cracker Barrel. Then I went to my insurance office. We were all a little concerned with the accident report, which was brought to me by a nice state trooper at the hospital. It turns out the culprit car was a rental! That will all be taken care of later.

In the end, it was a pretty crappy day, but I’m alive. I’m thankful that my mom and step-dad drove two-and-a-half hours to come and get me from the hospital and take me around to the places I need to go. I’m thankful I work for understanding people who were concerned about my welfare. I’m thankful that no one else was hurt badly. I’m thankful that Hyundai made a car that not only kept me safe(I got hit at around 40+mph), but it also called someone and let them know there was an accident. I’m thankful for Amazon for working with me on a replacement Kindle. I didn’t get it for free, but they were very nice and gave me a discount. I’m thankful the doctor at the ER was nice. It was not a good day, but there were things that made it be not nearly as bad as it could have been.

Hopefully, I will re resuming normal activity tomorrow as far as this website, but don’t hold it too hard against me if I don’t.

 

Leave a Reply

