#575 Haunted by Dorah L. Williams

Haunted by Dorah L. WilliamsHaunted by Dorah L. Williams

Dorah and her family were driving around the neighborhood for kicks one day and saw an open-house for a Victorian house. The family, with its children, was no stranger to fixing up houses. They had owned a couple of Victorian houses in the past. They decided to go in, even though they had just bought a house not too long before. The house spoke to them. They felt at home. The children found coins in random places. They decided to go for it.

The family sold their current house and bought the Victorian, where the same family had lived for twenty years. Before that people had moved in and out of the house fairly regularly. They set to work on the house right away. They remodeled and built on a family room.

One of the daughter’s said she saw a little girl waving to her from her room. This was not the only sighting. With the construction of the family room, other spirits appeared, an older girl, a boy, and a very tall woman who was dressed like a nurse or nun. The family found things buried in the ground. Lights turned on and off inexplicably. Things seemed to disappear and appear out of thin air. The basement flooded when it hadn’t before, but was completely dry a few hours later.

Strange stuff happened. A rose bus sprouted on its own and a large walnut tree seemed to grow overnight. Dorah finally got tired of all this mess and told the spirits to leave, and seemingly, they did.

What I liked

I was in the mood to read a good ghost story since it is autumn going into winter, when we think of ghosts. I am more of a fan of supposedly true ghost stories rather than stuff that is completely made up. Sure, a good ghost story is still a good ghost story, but if someone really believed they saw it and it really happened to someone, then it’s so much better.

For all I know, Dorah made all of this up. I don’t care; she put enough research and history into it to make it believable.

If you are a regular reader here, you may know that I have this idea of “woo-woo.” Woo-woo is anything, to me, that is unexplained by science and not in my personal experience. It’s fringe stuff. It’s pseudo-science. It’s crystals with healing powers and time travel. Woo-woo is something I can’t back up with science or back up personally. If it can’t be backed up by science, but I can back it up personally, it isn’t woo-woo. To me, crystals with healing powers are woo-woo, but religion is not, because although I can’t back religion up with science, I have personal experience with it. I can’t back crystals up with science or personal experience, so healing crystals are woo-woo.

Ghosts are not woo-woo to me. My family has enough ghost stories and I have enough personal experiences of my own, to back up ghosts, at least in my mind. Ghost stories are fascinating. I don’t know the how or the why. How is this possible? Why is it happening? Who the heck knows?! The experience is entertaining because there are so many questions.

You can only throw the phrases “swamp gas,” “psychosis,” and, “your imagination,” at a situation so many times before you have to admit that you just can’t confirm or deny an event. What’s the quote–“When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth”? Yeah, that one.

I can’t say for sure whether these events really happened to Dorah and her family, but it’s incredibly interesting to read about. I learned some history about her little town and I was intrigued all at the same time.

What I didn’t like

What is Dorah’s husband’s deal? These unexplained events happen to the entire family, but he’s like, “Um, yeah, nothing happened here. We’re normal.” Look, dude, if your entire family is telling you that something is going on, then maybe something is going on. Right? It’s not like they’re going to pull out a surprise party twenty years later and jump out and say, “We were joking! It was a prank!” Why do some men have to be so stubborn? “I haven’t experience it myself, so entirely on the basis of not experiencing it myself, your experiences must not be true.” As if, dude, as if.

To be fair, it’s not only men that take on this attitude, sometimes women do it as well. Sometimes I like to read comments on various articles on the internet. Recently, I read an article about something or the other and the comments section got off onto a tangent about fat shaming and whether it was a problem. There were people saying that they hadn’t experienced it so it didn’t exist. Really? Just because it doesn’t happen to you or you don’t see it doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. Look, I’ve never been to China, but just because I’ve never been doesn’t mean that China isn’t real, about a billion people would beg to differ with me about the existence of China.

Just because you’re uncomfortable with something doesn’t give you the right to negate someone else’s experience. I’m sure Dorah loves her husband just the way he is, but good Lord man! She’s your wife. If she says there is a goblin that lives under your bed, you better check it out. You don’t automatically say, “I haven’t seen a goblin, so you didn’t either.”

Overall

I wonder if Dorah still lives in the house.

Weigh In

In your opinion, are supposedly true ghost stories better than made up ones?

Would you live in this house?

Leave a Reply

