Andersen Fairy Tales, Andersen-Hans Christian

What the Whole Family Said

What the Whole Family SaidWhat the Whole Family Said

In a large house once lived a family. On the bottom floor lived one part of the family. There was a mother, a father and several younger children. One boy was afraid everything would be discovered by the time he grew up. The next floor held another part of the family. The children on that floor were all older, one was ever engaged to be married. The next floor held Godfather. Among his books was a Bible, from which he read. Inside the Bible was all that a person could pray for. Godfather said that, “life was the most wonderful fairy tale of all.”

Observations

In the South, where I grew up, there are many large and worn Bibles, that are passed down through the family. There are dates of births, weddings, and deaths included in the front or back part of the Bible. My grandmother herself owns such a Bible. This family’s Bible would have most likely been something like that. It would have been large enough that several people could look into it as another person read aloud.

When I lived in Okinawa, I had a dream, or a premonition, or something, that my grandmother was going to send me a Bible. I didn’t know that she was going to send me a Bible. It was just this thing that came over me. Later on, my grandmother said she sent me a package, but she didn’t tell me what was in it. I knew it was going to be a family Bible. It’s not “the” family Bible, but it’s “a” family Bible. I have no idea how I knew what it was.

Themes

There are all kinds of stories. There are stories upon stories upon stories. There are so many stories that they repeat themselves, even, seemingly, in the Bible. Something can be said for life being the greatest fairy tale of all. You never know what exactly is going to come around the corner. It’s an adventure and it’s even more of an adventure because we’re living it. It’s more complex than a short fairy tale. It’s more enriching than a short fairy tale. When a fairy tale ends, our lives still go on. It’s all a lot more epic than a volume of fairy tale could be, even compared to all of the Grimm’s Fairy Tales, the Andersen tales, and The Lord of the Rings combined.

Overall

Godfather is wise.

Weigh In

Would you trade your life for a story?

If you would trade your life for a story, what story would it be and why?

Leave a Reply

