#670 Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany

Harry Potter is back, years later, and this time, we’re talking about his son Albus and how he’s friends with Draco Malfoy’s son, Scorpius. Albus goes to Hogwarts, but he’s not sorted into Gryffindor, he’s sorted into Slytherin. Albus and Scopius both seem to be loners and become fast friends.

There are problems at home for Albus; his dad just doesn’t get him. He’s the great Harry Potter and his shadow is difficult to stand in.

There are rumors floating around that Voldemort had a child, some say that child is Scorpius. Draco has had enough of these awful rumors. Why would he send his wife back in time to have a child with Voldemort? More rumors are floating around. The rumor is that someone has a time-turner.

Amos Diggory wants his son back and wants someone to use a confiscated time-turner to get him back. Albus and Scorpius decide to take matters into their own hands, but apparently they haven’t watched a lot of Doctor Who because they cannot even begin to fathom what big impact little changes in the past can have on their current lives. Ultimately, there is a cursed child and the rumors are somewhat true.

What I liked

I liked that this was a new Harry Potter book. I loved that J.K. sat back down and wrote some more on this whole magical world we’ve all grown accustomed to. I’m a grown woman and I love Harry Potter. When I got divorced I had a sock party, inspired by Dobby, to celebrate my freedom. I don’t have posters on my wall or anything, but the entire story is fascinating.

Danger continues to follow Harry, even as an adult, of course. Danger follows his family and danger follows his friends. He is Harry Potter and always will be.

Time travel is very interesting. I have a love of Doctor Who and I enjoyed the idea of traveling through time and the consequences thereof in this book.

What I didn’t like

While I would love to see this play, I don’t like that this book is written as a play. I want a book to be a book. Plays have this explicit stop about them. We label when each person talks, we set the scene, and we include actions and possibly emotions around the lines. I liked being in plays in school. I like movies and such, but I don’t necessarily like my books to be like that.

Because this is a play, there is less meat to the story than if this had been a regular Harry Potter Book. Look, I pre-purchased this book from a 2nd and Charles, and it wasn’t cheap. I don’t feel that there is enough Harry Potter-ness in this story to warrant the price it sells for brand new. I still liked it, a lot, but I don’t feel as if it’s quite enough.

Why would anyone sleep with Voldemort? He looks like a dork. He literally congealed out of some goo, but had been living on back of people’s heads before. So someone, you’ll find out who, has sex with congealed goo man, who also has no nose, and gets pregnant. You can’t expect this to turn out right on any level. Neither of the parents are right, so why would the child be?

At some point the threat of Voldemort has to stop. Look, Hitler was bad, but he’s gone now. He doesn’t threaten to come back to life every few years and go after more people. He is dead, and while people proclaim still to follow him, he’s not really a big threat. We have new enemies, like terrorists and ISIS. The wizarding world would also have new enemies because that’s how time works. That’s how the world works. Voldemort is gone, but then someone else, just as evil, or more, comes to take his place.

Overall

This was still a very enjoyable read and it reminded me of the whole Harry Potter experience.

Weigh In

Should Voldemort still be an enemy? Yeah or nay?

Is time travel ever wise?

 

 

Leave a Reply

