Bookmarks of my Life-You’ve Cat to be Kitten me Right Meow

Bookmarks of my Life-You've Cat to be Kitten me Right MeowBookmarks of my Life-You’ve Cat to be Kitten me Right Meow

When I read books that take longer than one sitting to read, I’m usually using a bookmark. I love bookmarks. I have quite a few lying around, including Doctor Who bookmarks, Lord of the Rings bookmarks, specifically Aragorn and more. It’s always good to have extra bookmarks when you need them.

Some time ago, before a trip down to Georgia to see my family, I bought a book and some bookmarks at Barnes and Noble. I’ve since forgotten what book it was that I bought, but the bookmarks I bought were three magnetic bookmarks featuring various cat-related things, because I like cats. I did not realize that one of them actually said, “You’ve Cat to be Kitten me Right Meow.”

Hilarious.

My boyfriend actually pointed this bookmark out to me. I wasn’t aware that I had such a thing and was in a bit of disbelief when I found it, but it’s definitely hilarious and I love it. Right now said bookmark is helping me read the collected works of H.P. Lovecraft. It doesn’t exactly fit with the theme of Lovecraft, so far, except for maybe the story about The Cats of Ulthar, but it’s fun.

I have actually taken to saying this silly phrase every once in a while, generally to my boyfriend. I know the novelty of this bookmark, and the joke I feel I’m telling by using said bookmark, is going to wear off after a while, but I’m having fun with it right now.

I don’t know who came up with bookmarks. I know there is a why. The why is so you can keep your place in your book without turning down the corners of the pages. Once upon a time, I was one of those corner turning-down monsters. I am no longer. I also used to be one of those people who bent the front cover of a paperback all the way around while reading, but that was way back when I was in middle school or high school, there abouts anyway. I don’t know why, or when, bookmarks first came to reflect the personality of the person reading the book, but I think it’s a good thing. Why not have Doctor Who or your Lord of the Rings husband as a bookmark?

My current bookmark is woefully punny, which some may groan at, but I’m enjoying it. I’m happy right now and a silly bookmark to accompany somewhat horrific and odd stories is just fine with me.

Leave a Reply

