Creativity Time

Creativity TimeCreativity Time

There’s an infographic going around, has been for some time, that breaks up the creative times of famous people throughout the day. Some went to bed late and got up late. Some went to bed early and got up early. Some went to bed late and got up early. Some took naps throughout the day.

I have thoroughly come to realize that the mornings are not my creative time. In fact the most I can do is get my posts published in the morning. Folgers may like to say that the best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup, but they’re full of it. The best part of waking up is hitting the snooze button and going back to sleep, better yet, the best part of waking up is waking up, and then going back to sleep, and not having to get up when the alarm goes off.

No, my creative time is generally the evening. While it’s true that I’ve already been through a whole day of work, if it’s a work day, or whatever, if it’s a non-work day, being creative in the evening is just easier. In the morning I hardly have two brain cells to run together. I’m surprised I can even get out of bed when the annoying alarm goes off. Getting up by alarm is not my preferred wake up choice. I’m not sure why it’s so bad though because I would get up in a while on my own anyway.

It’s easier to be creative when your daily tasks are done. I don’t have anywhere to be. I don’t have things to go out to do. I can sit in my pajamas, or workout clothes, and write, or draw, or whatever I happen to be doing. I don’t have to be presentable or put my mind on anything other than being creative.

I also feel it’s easier to be creative in the dark. Maybe it’s because there are fewer distractions in the dark. The world seems to have quieted. It’s just more peaceful. The dark is enveloping, unlike the day where you’re just out there amidst everything. The dark is closer and more inspiring, all you have is your own thoughts.

Of course being creative at night also means a person has to split their time between being creative and their family, which means there can certainly be some conflicts. Then there’s also workout time, which has to be factored into life as well. The good thing about my life now is that I have someone in my life who values being creative and values my efforts with reading and writing. I don’t have to feel guilty about taking time away from this person, whereas I had to in the past.

With all this being said, you won’t find me up first thing in the morning, writing or making artwork. Just know that my writing happens in the evenings when the sun is going down and the world is getting quiet.

Leave a Reply

