Carpenter-Kim, Carpenter-Krickett, inspirational, Memoir, Non-Fiction, Wilkerson-Dana

#727 The Vow by Kim and Krickett Carpenter

The Vow by Kim and Krickett CarpenterThe Vow by Kim and Krickett Carpenter

Kim and Krickett Carpenter had a whirlwind of a romance, that started out with Kim ordering some sports jackets for his baseball team that he coached, well just the one jacket, but everyone really liked it. Kim was intrigued by a girl named Krickett. It wasn’t her real name, just a nickname, but it fit her just right. The two spoke back and forth, with astronomical phone bills, until finally deciding to meet. They had visits and dates, until Kim asked Krickett to marry her. From the time they met, until they got married, only a year and a half had passed.

Only two months after they had been married something terrible happened. Kim and Krickett were in a terrible car accident. Kim was badly injured, but Krickett’s injuries were worse. It wasn’t even clear if Krickett was going to lie or not. What brought the two together in the first place was their love for God. Kim began praying along with everyone else. They prayed for brain swelling to go down. They prayed for higher blood pressure. They prayed for each milestone of Krickett’s recovery.

The terrible thing is that Krickett did not remember Kim at all. When asked who she was married to, Krickett averred that she was not married at all. She did not like Kim. She remembered nothing about him at all. In the end, Krickett lost over a year and a half of her memory. Kim decided that he wanted to make his marriage work, even if Krickett didn’t remember marrying him. Things were very rough for a long time. Krickett just wasn’t the same. She often had outbursts and threw tantrums, but as time went by things became more normal. Through prayer, counseling, and dating, Kim was able to make Krickett fall in love with him a second time. The pair went on to have two children and they’re still together today.

What I liked

This story was so sweet. Two people stayed together despite some pretty big hurdles.

I believe in a higher power and I believe that Krickett’s life was saved by a higher power, that’s what Krickett and Kim believe as well. This is just one of those situations where there is really no scientific reason for Krickett to have survived, but she did. Krickett has her share of stubbornness, which helped her survive, but she also had great faith and so did her family. It’s stories like this one that remind me that God, or whoever you want to believe in, still does things for people. I consider Krickett’s story a miracle. Call it a medical miracle or call it a religious miracle, either way, it’s a miracle.

These two are a couple that other couples should aspire to be like.

What I didn’t like

Sometimes I felt as if Kim was too short and a little mean to Krickett.

I don’t think I could have gone through with this, if I had been in this situation. If I had been in Kim’s position, I couldn’t have done that. If I had been in Krickett’s position, I couldn’t have done it either. Maybe it speaks to weakness on my part. I don’t know that I could have stayed married to this person, I was barely married to anyway, if they had become someone entirely different. I also don’t know that I would stay married to a person, knowing that I was completely different. Wouldn’t it be unfair to them? If you’re an entirely different person than you were when you got married, isn’t that a ground to just end it?

While I do admire Kim and Krickett’s doggedness to stay married because they were Christians and they decided that they should stay married no matter what, I don’t agree. Look, I’m a Christian and I’ve been married, and divorced. Honestly, if I had had a choice, if I could have made things work, I would still be married. I didn’t ever want to get divorced. As per my beliefs, I did believe that I was supposed to stay married once I got married. It was when I realized that the situation was not healthy or good for me that I considered divorce. I’m a heck of a lot better off now. I can’t imagine what torture my life would be like right now if I were still married to my ex-husband.

I do believe that Kim and Krickett had the same end goals in mind as far as marriage went and although it was hard to put their marriage back together because of Krickett’s injuries, it was easier than if they had been two people without the same life goals in mind. Could my former marriage have survived something like this? Probably not, although my ex was pretty stubborn. Maybe he would have kept me around, even if I had a brain injury, but then I’d have to find out all over again how awful he was.

While I do admire Kim and Krickett so much, there are circumstances in which marriage should be dissolved, but I don’t necessarily think that Kim and Krickett’s hardship is a reason for divorce, but I can certainly see why people in their situation would get divorced.

Overall

Good vibes to Kim and Krickett.

Weigh In

If your significant other had a brain injury that changed who they were, would you stay?

If you had a brain injury that changed who you were, would you want your significant other to stay?

Leave a Reply

