Fey-Tina, Memoir, Non-Fiction

#728 Bossypants by Tina Fey

Bossypants by Tina FeyBossypants by Tina Fey

Tina Fey is a woman you may recognize from Saturday Night Live, 30 Rock, or various movies. You might also recognize her as Sarah Palin, vice president would-be hopeful from an election back. Tina Fey is a funny woman, in this book, she tells us some about her life.

Tina grew up in a partially Greek household. Tina felt that at a young age she wasn’t “pretty” like other girls. A scar on her face, inflicted by an attack on the street at a young age, which Tina doesn’t talk about, left her with more problems in the world of trying to grow up. Tina did grow up though. She went to highschool and to college. She found that boys might want to be her friend rather than her boyfriend.

Tina started writing and doing improv. She traveled with an improv group and ultimately ended up on Saturday Night Live. Tina wrote many sketches for SNL and was in The Weekend Update, a usual sketch on the show.

Tina moved on from SNL to write her own show, 30 Rock. She wasn’t sure if people were going to like it or watch it, but ultimately, people did.

During all of this, Tina got married and had a daughter named Alice. She was a mother and wife right along with being hilarious on television.

What I liked

I like Tina Fey. I tend to like women in comedy. Tina’s impressions of Sarah Palin were hilarious. She can see Russia from her house. She is funny to read. You’ll have a good time reading this book. It’s an enjoyable experience.

What I didn’t like

Not much really, I like memoirs and I like Tina Fey. Done and done.

Overall

Tina Fey just might make my list of hilarious people I need to be friends with.

Weigh in

Do you think you could do improv?

If you wrote a comedy show, what would it be about?

2 thoughts on “#728 Bossypants by Tina Fey”

  1. I love Tina Fey so I think I will love this book too. I don’t read too many memoirs (or any at all) but I might start as there are some great ones who came out recently and that I’m interested in.
    I don’t think I’d be good at improv, no, and I have no idea what my comedy show would be about… There’re so many cool things to talk about!
    Great review! 🙂

    1. Oh, Tina Fey is great! If you want to get into funny memoirs, you might also consider David Sedaris.

      I don’t know that I would be good at improv. I’ve done some, back in drama class. I’m hilarious, but I don’t know that I can be hilarious, on the spot, with people watching, who paid money to watch. I feel like I might disappoint them with a lot of, “Uhs,” and long lapses of silence while my mind went blank.

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

