#738 The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna GainesThe Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines

Chip and Joanna Gaines have stolen many hearts with their show Fixer Upper on HGTV. Chip and Joanna show prospective buyers, several houses, that usually need a lot of work, then Joanna dazzles the buyers with remodeling plans for each one. Ultimately, the buyers choose a house and is always stunned and touched by how it turns out.

Chip and Joanna haven’t always been making giant canvases of people’s houses. There were plenty of hard times before they got to the giant canvas part of life, heck, they weren’t even always together, which might be surprising to everyone who watches the show.

Chip and Joanna met after college and Chip was late for their first date, but Joanna went out with him again anyway, even though he had a bet with a buddy about not calling girls back. The two went out for a while and ultimately ended up married. Chip was already in the real-estate business by this point, as well as the lawn care business. He brought Joanna into the life of flipping houses. The two moved from house to house for a while, sometimes with very little. Joanna opened up a home furnishings store in Waco and was successful for a while, but after she started having kids, Joanna closed the store.

An almost failed development almost bring Chip and Joanna down low, but something happens and they pull through. One day, someone asks them if they would like to be on television. A houseboat helps things along.

The show continues to go on and Joanna has opened her store again. The couple relies heavily on their relationship with God to help them through life, but they also don’t have a television and that seems to help.

What I liked

I adore Chip and Joanna, and their show. I think they’re just a wonderful family. I loved reading more about their lives. After reading, I think I admire them more. They don’t even have a television, which is quite impressive.

I find both Chip and Joanna strong examples of being optimistic, never-failing, and faithful. Again, I know not everyone who reads this website is of a faith, but that doesn’t matter. Chip and Joanna practiced faith in something; you don’t have to believe that it’s God, you can say that it’s the Flying Spaghetti Monster, or even just themselves. The point is, Chip and Joanna had faith and that faith enabled them to do great things.

I find Chip and Joanna wonderful examples for their hard work. I love how they made something out of nothing. Joanna’s life philosophy about making home wherever you are, is a wonderful one. I also thought about how much television I watch. I feel as if I should strive to be more interactive in my relationship, rather than watch so much television.

What I didn’t like

I really liked it. I don’t have a lot of complaints.

Overall

Let’s all go out and find a fixer upper.

Weigh in

Can you see the potential in fixer uppers?

Do you think you could live without TV?

Leave a Reply

