#748 The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Network Marketing People by Stephen R. Covey

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Network Marketing People by Stephen R. CoveyThe 7 Habits of Highly Effective Network Marketing People by Stephen R. Covey

What are good habits to have as a highly effective network marketing professional? Well, Stephen explains seven of them in this book. These seven habits are, of course, from his other highly successful book, The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, known the world over. These seven habits are explained in terms of network marketing in this short book.

What I liked

I like the idea of breaking effective habits down into seven areas. I have not yet read Stephen’s main book. I do like the idea of first seeking to understand, then to be understood. I also like the idea of questioning whether your endeavors are spiritually fulfilling. I know this bit comes from Stephen’s religion, but it’s good to question whether something helps you grow spiritually as a person, even if you don’t believe in any higher power. Do you feel that this project nourishes you or sucks the life out of you?

What I didn’t like

I don’t entirely understand the concept of networking. To me, looking in from the outside as an introvert, the term “networking” sounds an awful lot like bragging to strangers about yourself. First of all, I’m shy. Second of all, why should I go around telling everyone what I can do? Third of all, does it even work? I’ve never gotten a job because I “knew someone.” I’ve gotten jobs because I applied for them. I showed up. I backed up my skills. That’s how I got my jobs.

I somewhat get that within your field, you’re supposed to know other people within your field. If you’re an artist, you find other artists and maybe you just talk about making artwork, whatever, you know…but this whole practice of going out of your way, to talk to strangers, about yourself is so weird. I have no personal proof that it works, or that it even helps with anything. For all I know, people would think I was a big dork for walking up to them and telling them what all I could do.

While I do like the framework of Covey’s seven habits, networking is a concept that has yet to be proven for me. I wish someone would write a book about networking from the perspective of an introvert, or someone with social anxiety. Maybe then, I could understand what in the heck the big deal was. To me, if you want to succeed in life, do good work, place it out into the world, back it up with your knowledge and skill and if that’s up to snuff, you’ll get somewhere.

Overall

I need a book about the seven habits of highly effective sleepers, because I could use some sleep right now.

Weigh In

Do you get networking?

Do you like the idea of seven habits?

Leave a Reply

