#761 The Comic Book Mystery created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Comic Book Mystery created by Gertrude Chandler WarnerThe Comic Book Mystery created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Alden children are at their mystery solving again, of course. This time they go to a small comic convention in their town. It’s not a large comic convention, but people are dressed up as their favorite super heroes, including one Captain Fantastic. The children spend their only money, twenty dollars, on a rare edition of Captain Fantastic; it’s issue number nine. Instead of Captain Fantastic’s cape being green, it’s orange. Another person, actually a guy dressed up as Captain Fantastic, wants the issue of the comic book the kids bought, but he can’t have it.

Things come along and somehow the kids get hooked up with meeting the comic book artist himself. Somehow the housekeeper is friends with somebody at the comic book artist’s house. The children go to meet the comic book artist who shows them where he works and where his comic books get printed. Before signing the Alden’s comic book, the artist, Sid, discovers that the comic book the Alden’s have is a fake. It doesn’t have the artist’s hidden signature.

In addition to the counterfeit comic book, the comic contained a strange note, which someone stole in the library. The kids wants to figure out who made the fake and why. Their search leads them to investigate several people in town before ultimately finding that money and the love of comics are involved in a strange counterfeit ring.

What I liked

I think it’s hilarious that someone wrote a book about the Boxcar Children going to a comic convention. I really wish they would have dressed up and nerded-out more.

Because I’m an artist, I was kind of digging the idea of this book being about drawing. I think the author got the steps of comic book making fairly correct.

What I didn’t like

I’m not a comic book person. I’ve been trying to read Watchmen for over a month. I like all the artwork, I’m just not sure about the whole comic book thing. My partner, we’ll call Grizzly Pirate Wynn, because I’m awesome at making up aliases, likes comic books. He actually subscribes to a couple and I’m learning more about the world of comics. So we’ll see, maybe I’ll make my own comic book one day. It would be unlike other comic books though, so we’ll see.

Overall

Counterfeit comics at a comic convention conceived and carried out by criminals.

POW!

Weigh in

Do you like comic books?

If you found out something that is usually cheap, but you paid a little more money for, for whatever reason, was fake, how would you feel?

#761 The Comic Book Mystery created by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

