#763 The Mystery of the Missing Cat created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Mystery of the Missing Cat created by Gertrude Chandler WarnerThe Mystery of the Missing Cat created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Alden children are in town and they just happen to hear about a man’s missing  cat. He isn’t a very nice man, but he had a cat that he liked and now the cat is gone. The cat found the man just like Watch, the dog, found the Alden children. The children decide to help the man find his cat. They make flyers and start asking around about missing cats. Spotsy, has some very pretty spots.

One guy contacts them about the cat, but he says he found his cat. Another woman contacts them and says that she has their cat. She shoves a cat at the Alden children in a box. The children go and take the cat to the man only to find that this cat is not Spotsy, because Spotsy is much prettier. This cat is just another lost cat.

Their search leads them to a man who collects rare cat breeds. He seems to have a cat of every kind, but he says Spotsy is an ordinary cat and he would have no interest in her. The children begin exchanging notes with someone who is looking for a cat. They wait to see if they can catch this man.

It turns out that Spotsy wasn’t so ordinary after all, especially for there to be such a fuss about her.

What I liked

I have cats myself so I like stories about cats. I would feel bad if one of my cats was missing. I’m not super attached to my cats, but if one of them went missing, I would be kind of sad, and if someone then helped me find my cat, I would be very grateful.

It seems as if Sposty does provide a lot of companionship to the man in this story. I’m glad the children were able to help reunite Spotsy with her owner.

What I didn’t like

Who would steal someone’s cat? What kind of a person does that, purebred or not? Just leave people’s pets alone.

Overall

Leave Spotsy alone.

Weigh In

Would you be grateful if people helped you find a missing pet?

Is it ever justifiable to take someone’s pet?

#763 The Mystery of the Missing Cat created by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

