Fiction, Mystery, Warner-Gertrude Chandler

#790 The Election Day Dilemma created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Election Day Dilemma created by Gertrude Chandler WarnerThe Election Day Dilemma created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Alden children are visiting their cousin in Appleton. When they arrive in town, they see that someone has defaced a  town sign warning of a town curse. The Aldens thin this is silly, and so does their cousin, who is actually running for mayor. The Alden children are there to help with the campaign. There are two people running for mayor. One person wants to stop new companies from coming in, and the Aldens’ cousin wants to bring a new attraction to town.

A new candidate announces a candidacy, but no one knows who he is. No one has heard of him. The Aldens start poking around. Some strange thing happens. There’s a boy who isn’t very nice. The children find a dog, who happens to be named the same thing as the third candidate, but who would run a dog for election?

What I liked

The idea of a dog being mayor is fun.

What I didn’t like

I’m not happy with the government right now, since I had to pay taxes and they didn’t make it easy. They took my money, but made the whole process suck, even on the internet, so I don’t particularly care for election stories right now. Most of the time, I consider elections to be the equivalent of choosing which eye you want to get a needle stuck into, both are going to suck and it’s going to hurt, no matter which way you choose. Although, I do tend to think smaller town elections have a bigger impact. I think if you’re going to vote, you’re probably going to get the most bang for your vote by voting locally. The people who are running locally know more about your community and your needs than some congressman or the president.

I like that the Aldens got involved in their local government. I think that is a place you can make changes. Bigger government is too full of red-tape to make any huge changes one way or the other, usually only moderate changes come to pass at bigger government levels. With all that said, I generally don’t like election talk or stories.

Oh, and, dogs and cats and even beer-drinking goats get elected for mayor all the time in small towns. The fact that the dog wasn’t allowed to ultimately run for mayor in this story doesn’t mesh with my knowledge of very small-town elections, but as I have never lived in a town so small that you can elect a dog for mayor, I don’t really know about it personally.

Overall

Sometimes, I think I could elect a chicken with more sense than some politicians.

Weigh In

Do you vote in local elections?

Would you ever run for local government?

#790 The Election Day Dilemma created by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

