#804 Monkey Trouble created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Monkey Trouble created by Gertrude Chandler WarnerMonkey Trouble created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The zoo is having a contest. The deal is that you buy a disposable camera from the zoo, take pictures, and then submit the entire camera to the zoo. he winner gets a year pass to the zoo. The Aldens only have enough money for one camera, so they decide to share the winnings, if they win. There are a couple of other friends around. There is a friend named Blake who insists that he needs two cameras. There is another friend who is a swimmer practicing for sporting events. She doesn’t really have money for a camera. The contest lasts a couple of days. One day, Blake discovers one of his cameras is missing. Who has it?

The Aldens start checking around. They have several suspects, but there are reasons each of the suspects do not have the camera. At one point a monkey escapes and it turns out the monkey has quick fingers, that do steal things. Is the camera with those things? Did someone take the spare camera or did a monkey do it?

What I liked

I like zoos. I’ve actually been a couple of times in the past couple of years. One day I went with my friend to a zoo in South Carolina where we encountered a woman, by herself, squatting down in front of a tortoise and talking to it as if it were a baby or small child. “You’re just a baby. I bet your daddy was a hundred and fifty years old.” I am not even beginning to joke about this. There were no children with the woman, nor was there even another companion with the woman. Apparently, she just liked to go to zoos, by herself, and talk to reptiles like they were babies. Maybe she did the same thing with all the snakes.

The last time I went to the zoo was with my boyfriend, stepdad, mom, and niece. My family couldn’t decide what they wanted to do, but they finally decided on the zoo, which was over an hour away. The problem with this is that it’s always going to take more than an hour to drive there and that my family takes forever to go anywhere. Several hours, I’m serious. I’m not even joking. When I want to go somewhere, I put on my clothes and go. My family does not do this. My mother takes at least an hour to get ready; I’m not even sure what all she is doing during this time. She doesn’t curl her hair. It’s not like she’s in their contouring like a Kardashian. I just have no idea. It’s like the entire family can’t get moving without first watching a movie, fiddling with random junk, and taking an excessive amount of time in the bathroom before getting out of the door. How long does it take to put on clothes? Ten minutes–that’s how long.

We finally made it to the zoo after many stops, but there were only about two hours left in which to see the zoo. So we had to speed-admire the animals. Oh, it’s a tiger, well lets move on. If you look to your left as we’re zooming by, you can see the gorillas, next stop, the pandas. We didn’t have time to go gift shopping. We didn’t have time to do much. There was this conversation with my boyfriend on whether or not I could just wear my undershirt out in public, it was hot. Turns out that it was way too thin. So we got to the zoo and then we left the zoo, about two hours later. A bunch of kids started showing up as super heroes, I’m not really sure what was going on. Needless to say, it wasn’t exactly the most relaxing experience. Do not go to the zoo with my family. If they ask you, pretend you’re busy. Go to the zoo by yourself.

What I didn’t like

This was kind of a rip off. We’re having this photography contest. Buy a camera from us, then take pictures. We’ll use your picture on promotional items and you get a zoo pass. That doesn’t sound like that great of a deal. Oh, and we’ll get children to do it.

Overall

Meerkats are fun. I think I could have a pet meerkat and it would be great.

Weigh In

Do you like to go to the zoo?

What would you want as a prize for this contest?

#804 Monkey Trouble created by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

