#819 The Mystery on the Train created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Mystery on the Train created by Gertrude Chandler WarnerThe Mystery on the Train created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Alden children and their late 80s/early 90s windbreakers are going on a train ride with their aunt across the country. They’ll get to stay in sleeper cabins and eat in the dining car. It seems like it’s going to be a fun adventure for all involved.

While boarding the train, they notice a bit of an altercation between a woman and a girl. The girl has a large portfolio. She’s going to California to sell some old autographed movie posters, as the Alden children later find out. They become friends with the girl, but at one point she says her posters were stolen. The Aldens try to help her out. There is this one really strange guy wearing glasses and a long beard on the train. He just seems fishy.

When the Aldens find out the real story behind the poster thief, it’s a bit disappointing to those involved, but at least the posters are safe.

What I liked

I like trains; I always have; I don’t know why. I used to have train sets. Yes, a girl, had train sets. I’d put the tracks together and watch the train go around and around. Usually there was only a couple of configurations for a train set, an oval or a circle. If you were lucky, there was a cross-piece, which meant you could have a figure-eight track. I just like trains.

I kind of want to go on a train with a sleeper cabin and just hang out. I’m kind of jealous of the Aldens.

Art and posters are also right up my alley. I am an artist. I also have one movie poster. By movie poster, I mean the real one, that hung at the theater. I happen to have a Return of the King poster. It’s a little rough for the wear though.

What I didn’t like

Adults trying to steal stuff from kids–shame, unless it’s candy, then you get a pass. There is a part of this story, where an adult, tries to take something from a child, for the adult’s benefit, and it has nothing to do with the child.

Unfortunately, this is something I’ve heard a lot about. I grew up in an area of the country where there were a lot of very poor people, but they weren’t poor because they were qualified and couldn’t find jobs; they were poor because every bit of money that came into their hands was spent on drugs or alcohol. Sometimes these people had kids. If the kids had a nice present, do you want to know where that present went? That present got sold so the parent could buy whatever. Kids may be kids, but there is a certain amount of right to property that they do have.

Overall

I’m leaving on a long train, don’t know when I’ll be back again…

Weigh In

Would you go on an overnight trip to a train?

What do you think about people taking things from children?

#819 The Mystery on the Train created by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

