Fiction

#825 Daughter of the Midway, the Mermaid, and the Lonely, Open Sea by Candace McGuire

Daughter of the Midway, the Mermaid, and the Lonely, Open Sea by Candace McGuireDaughter of the Midway, the Mermaid, and the Lonely, Open Sea by Candace McGuire

Unfortunately, I’ve had to write this post twice because my WordPress decided to give me all kinds of weird problems and nothing I wrote saved, even though I saved it. So you’re getting my second round on this book.

So let’s get to it.

Ada lives with a carnival and she’s lived their her entire life. Her mother joined when she was still pregnant with Ada. The carnival is in Alabama, a place where it doesn’t usually go, primarily because of Ada and her mother. Ada doesn’t know the whole story, but it soon comes out. It seems that someone might have recognized Ada’s features when she was out in town with another carnival teenager hanging posters.

When they return to the carnival everyone goes to speak to Ada’s mother Marty, not in her trailer, but her tank. She comes up from underneath the water, scales and all. She doesn’t recognize Ada today, in fact, most days she doesn’t recognize Ada. Where a mermaid tail is, there used to be two legs. Marty doesn’t seem very concerned about being in Alabama, but that’s because she doesn’t remember. When mermaids take to the water, they forget a lot of things, sometimes, including their own children.

Ada knows that one day she  could turn into a mermaid. She has to stay dry. Nobody really knows what was so awful about human life that drove Marty to the water, but it happened, here, in Alabama.

One night, on the midway, someone grabs Ada, claiming to be relatives. Can Ada get away? Can she use the water to help her?

What I liked

I found this book very interesting. I like the idea of mermaids in folklore and this is the first time I’ve read about a mermaid in the south. The south has its supernatural qualities, the monsters in the swamps, the vampires in New Orleans, the voodoo zombies, and all those ghosts of people trying to settle a wild land, but it doesn’t usually have mermaids. I find the idea of mermaids from the south fascinating. It’s just not something that is part of southern folklore, usually.

This book kept my attention. I wanted to know what was going on. I wanted to hear the stories behind why everything was going on.

What I didn’t like

I really would have liked it if this book were longer. I feel there’s a lot more to this story that can be told. I want to know more of the background story. What happened to Ada after all of this?

I didn’t like my writing experience with this. It was awful–thumbs down either WordPress or GoDaddy, whoever did this awful thing to me.

Overall

Maybe mermaids can be southern.

Weigh In

Would you be a mermaid?

Why can’t mermaids be mammals? All the people who make fun of the idea of mermaids area always assuming that they lay eggs like fish. Look, people, there are mammals in the ocean, dolphins and whales, that kind of look like fish, but they’re not.

#825 Daughter of the Midway, the Mermaid, and the Lonely, Open Sea by Candace McGuire was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

