#867 Mystery Behind the Wall by Gertrude Chandler Warner

Mystery Behind the Wall by Gertrude Chandler WarnerMystery Behind the Wall by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Aldens have a Canadian friend coming to stay awhile. There’s a room that hasn’t been used in a while that he can stay in. The kids help clean it up. When the kid gets there, they decide to make a communication device, a tin can telephone. They figure they can pass a string through the closet, but there’s something strange about the closet. It kind of sounds hollow behind it. They soon find a note and some clues.

It turns out grandfather bought the house from someone else and a little girl used to live in the room. She didn’t play with dolls, like a lot of other young girls; she liked to collect coins. She wanted to leave a scavenger hunt. The Aldens start following her clues. Their progress is hindered by the fact that Grandfather added rooms onto the house at one point, so some of the original parts of the house are covered up. The Aldens figure it out, like usual, but they have a great time.

What I liked

Sometimes I really like the idea of having a really old house. There’s no telling what mementos of the past you may find in crawl spaces and attics. The Aldens finding something from a girl who used to live in their house is actually pretty neat. All I found when I moved into my last house, that I used to have, were some x-rays. Part of me doesn’t like the idea of having an old house because it’s probably haunted. I’ve recently read a whole lot of true ghost stories in an online article, and let me tell you, I wouldn’t want a lot of those experiences happening to me. Some of them I would be fine with, but the rest of it–no way. So I imagine that if, for some reason ,I bought an old Victorian house  it would probably be haunted and not like fun haunted, like awful, nightmare-inducing haunted. I’d have to call a priest and a bishop, one of them could exorcise the ghost and the other could fight it, hopefully, I’d end up ghost free in the end.

What I didn’t like

The little girl’s story seems a little sad.

Oh, and there the Aldens go, being spoiled again. Oh, we just happen to have this extra bedroom lying around. There are five people in the house and they have an extra bedroom. Unheard of, seriously. There were six people in my house growing up and we only had four bedrooms and one bathroom. The Aldens probably have like six bathrooms.

Overall

Maybe there’s a cool scavenger hunt in your house, but as luck might have it, it’s probably just a scavenger hunt to the previous tenant’s toenail collection.

Weigh In

If you found a scavenger hunt in your house, would you do it?

Do you think the Aldens are spoiled?

#867 Mystery Behind the Wall by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

