#923 The Spy in the Bleachers created by Gretrude Chandler Warner

The Spy in the Bleachers created by Gretrude Chandler WarnerThe Spy in the Bleachers created by Gretrude Chandler Warner

The Alden children are helping out a friend who owns a baseball stadium. It seems like everyone has their favorite team, but many people cheer for the local team, but they’re not doing so great right now. It seems like every time they have a play or something planned, the other team ends up knowing what it is. How could this be happening? Is there a spy on the baseball team or is there someone in the stands who knows what all the team’s hand signals means? Can the Aldens figure out who it is so the season isn’t totally lost?

What I liked

Well, these kids are resourceful, I’ll give them that.

What I didn’t like

This may not be a secret, but I’m going to reveal it anyway–I don’t like baseball. I never have liked baseball. It’s boring to me. I don’t want to stand around in a field waiting for someone to hit a ball in my direction. I also don’t want to stand around waiting to bat. I also-also don’t want to sit on my butt and watch other people stand around waiting for balls. It’s not an entertaining sport to play, let alone watch.

Yeah, it sucks that someone is stealing someone else’s hand signals and giving the secrets away to the other team, but that’s just code breaking and it’s perfectly ok for people to break codes in many situations, why not baseball? Sure, these baseball actions were coded to prevent other people from knowing and to prevent having to yell, “I’m going to throw a curve ball,” from across the field, but if you don’t actually encrypt something in a reasonable manner, people can figure it out. Doing straight hand signals is like having a password that’s, “abc123.” Sure, you tried a little to hide your information, but not enough.

Overall

Give me some darn Cracker Jacks, or I’ll never go back.

Weigh In

Do you like baseball?

Would you steal the other team’s hand signals? Why or why not?

#923 The Spy in the Bleachers created by Gretrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

