#924 The Garden Thief created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Garden Thief created by Gertrude Chandler WarnerThe Garden Thief created by Gertrude Chandler Warner

The Alden children are helping out at a local community garden. They find out that the land is basically considered public property. The people who garden there do not have garden space of their own. Some of the gardens are large. Some are smaller. Some people only grow a certain variety of things. There are rabbits as well.

One of the women who gardens there, hates the color purple, the actual color, not the book/movie. She even hates the purple carrots another gardener grows. Strange things start happening. Vegetables go missing. Things get destroyed. Rabbits get let out of their cages. What is going on?

What I liked

I enjoy gardening. I like growing things. I think it’s nice to have some plant, you raised yourself, flourish. I think community gardens are a nice idea. There’s actually one not too far away from my house. For the life of me, I do not understand why people don’t mess it up. It’s been my experience that people will mess things up if it’s there, especially teenage boys

Despite the fact that I’m distrustful of the fact that the local community garden is unmolested, I still think community gardens are a neat idea. People get to grow some of their own food and have pride in having a hobby. Also, an ugly lot looks a lot better.

What I didn’t like

Who in the world is so crazy that they vehemently hate the color purple? We’re talking the actual color, not the book and/or movie. I might understand disliking the book; I don’t see why you would dislike it; it’s a pretty great book. I’m not a hater of the color purple. I think it’s an ok color, not my favorite, but I do have a few purple articles of clothing. Pink is my least favorite color, but you don’t see me throwing a fit about something that’s pink. If that were the case, you’d never want to take me into the Barbie aisle at Wal-mart. It’s something very silly to get upset about and almost sounds like a mental disorder. Maybe the purple-hater lady needs to go to a therapy group or something because gardening evidently isn’t providing the therapeutic actions that she needs.

Overall

It’s a one-eyed, one-horned, flying purple-color hater.

Weigh In

Have you ever gardened in a community garden?

Is there something unreasonable that you hate?

#924 The Garden Thief created by Gertrude Chandler Warner was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

