#733 Middle School The Worst Years of my Life by James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts

Middle School The Worst Years of my Life by James Patterson and Chris TebbettsMiddle School The Worst Years of my Life by James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts

Rafe is at a new middle school. He has a plan though. He has this notebook he’s been working on. He wants to break every school rule, every single one. Things aren’t going so great in his home life. There’s a guy named Bear that lives at his house with his mother and his sister. Rafe doesn’t like Bear very much. He sells Bear’s secret stash of sodas at school.

The plan goes. Rafe is late. He streaks through the hallways. He graffitis the walls. He gets bad grades. He gets in school suspension. He knocks things over. He does this and he does that. He makes fun of Shakespeare.

Things just get out of control. Rafe gets a tutor and tries for a bit, but it doesn’t seem to matter. Meanwhile, things at home seem to have come to a point where there needs to be a come to Jesus meeting.

What I liked

This book is entertaining. I can actually remember it and follow it, unlike some of the other James Patterson books I’ve read. I’m not sure why.

Fun fact, Khatchadorian, which is Rafe’s last name, was also the last name of the main character in We Need to Talk About Kevin. The name is originally Armenian and it’s less common than my last name, which is saying something. It’s the 2,891,080th most common name in the world according to Forebears.io.

I liked that Rafe’s mother didn’t give up on him and she didn’t give up on herself. I think if you are a single parent, you can’t do either.

What I didn’t like

I hated middle school. I hated it. I hated it so much. I would say those years were the worst years of my life if I had not been through a mentally abusive marriage and a drawn-out divorce that took much longer than it needed to because of my ex and some archaic divorce laws.

It was such an awful time. Girls have it harder because of puberty, but compound on depression, medical issues, and hard times at home to get just a cocktail of awfulness. That’s my story. Rafe’s story is a little better, but still not awesome. He is depressed. He is acting out. He is having a hard time at school and he’s having a hard time at home as well. If your mom moved in a guy named Bear, wouldn’t you have a hard time at home? I really feel for Rafe. He’s been upended in several ways and then there’s this loser at his house who apparently does nothing but complain and exude the air of he knows what’s right all the time without actually knowing anything about anything. Those aren’t the kind of people you get into relationships with, even if you’re a single mother working at a diner. Leave those losers alone, especially for the kids.

The whole Bear thing made Rafe’s situation so much worse.

Overall

Middle school sucks.

Weigh In

Would you date a guy named Bear?

Did you ever act out at school because of your home life?

#733 Middle School The Worst Years of my Life by James Patterson and Chris Tebbetts was originally published on One-elevenbooks

Leave a Reply

